Erasmus+ Study Mobility Program

Erasmus+ Study Mobility Program

CEU students may spend 1 or 2 semesters or terms (a period of 3* to 12 months) at a partner university under the Erasmus+ Study Mobility Program. Students receive a grant, which is a contribution to travel and the cost of living and studying in another country. Applicants are selected for an Erasmus+ Study Mobility on the basis of academic ability and the relevance of the proposed study plan to their studies at CEU.

Students taking part in an Erasmus+ Study Mobility are exempted from paying fees for tuition, registration, examinations and access to laboratory and library facilities at the receiving institution. However, small fees may be charged for costs such as insurance, student unions and the use of miscellaneous material such as photocopies, laboratory products, on the same basis as these are charged to local students.

* Minimum duration of a study period is 3 months, or 1 academic term or trimester.


Two-year MA and PhD students* enrolled in a degree program at CEU are eligible to apply regardless of their nationality.

The applicant must be a degree-seeking student at CEU during the application process and must remain enrolled during the entire study period abroad. Students must return at the end of the study period and complete their program at CEU.

Participants in the Erasmus+ Study Mobility Program continue to pay tuition fees at CEU, but are exempted from tuition at the host university.

*Please, note that PhD students with "Defence due" status are not eligible to apply.


Students must carry out their mobility activity in a Program Country different from Hungary and their country of permanent residence.

The Erasmus Program Countries are the following:
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Turkey

The receiving institution must be a Program Country higher education institution awarded with an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education, having signed an inter-institutional agreement with CEU.

For the full list of CEU partner institutions, please visit Erasmus Agreements by Country or Erasmus Agreements by Department.


Minimum duration of a study period abroad is 3 months, or 1 academic term or trimester, maximum duration 12 months.

The duration is calculated from the first day the student is required to be at their place of study or traineeship, including induction days etc. The end date is the last date they need to be present. Priority will be given to students participating in the program for the first time (during their CEU studies) and to those choosing a destination country different from their country of permanent residence.

Students may participate in the Erasmus+ Mobility Program for studying or being trained abroad several times, totalling up to 12 months maximum per each level of study (short cycle, bachelor, master, doctoral).

All study mobilities must be carried out between 20 August 2018 and 30 September 2019. Current 1st year MESPOM student applicants constitute as an exception.


Selected applicants are eligible to receive a grant to partially support their mobility, thus may not cover all the actual expenses incurred. Students are responsible for making all their travel, accommodation and related arrangements. The amount of the grant is set by the Erasmus Program and depends on the receiving country.

It is calculated at a monthly rate, where one month is equivalent to 30 days. In case of incomplete months, the number of days are multiplied by 1/30.

Based on country rates, the amount of the grant can be:

400 – 420 EUR/month for Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
400 – 470 EUR/month for Malta
420 – 450 EUR/month for Croatia, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Turkey
450 – 470 EUR/month for Belgium, Cyprus, Germany, Greece, Portugal, Spain, The Netherlands
450 – 520 EUR/month for Iceland, Luxemburg
470 – 500 EUR/month for Austria, France, Italy
500 – 520 EUR/month for Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom

The grant will be paid in two instalments: 80% pre-financing upon the signature of the grant contract but not sooner than 30 days prior to the start of the Study Mobility. 20% is transferred at the end of the mobility period, pending on receipt by the Erasmus Office of all documentation and the submission of the online EU survey. All payments are processed through bank transfer.

Students that receive an Erasmus+ EU grant will fully or partially reimburse the EU grant if they do not comply with the terms of the grant contract (unless they were prevented from completing their planned activities abroad due to a case of force majeure). They may be asked to partially or fully reimburse the EU grant received if they fail to complete and submit the final online report.